Welcome to the Department of Teaching and Learning
 
 

 
Dear students, staff, and community members:
 
Welcome to the UPSD Teaching and Learning website. The Department of Teaching and Learning is committed to enhancing the overall experience of all stakeholders within our educational system.  We are committed to continuous progress to assist students on their journey of discovery. From preschool to our transition program, we strive to provide an atmosphere where every student is successful and prepared to meet the challenges of a complex world.<BR><BR>
 
On these pages you will find helpful information concerning all areas of instruction, including assessment, professional development, and special services and programs. Eventually, we will be adding detailed information on curriculum as well, including numerous resources to help staff and parents support student learning.  If there is a specific resource you would like to see on-line, please e-mail any one of us at the address listed below.
Again, welcome to the opening of our website.  Check back with us periodically and watch us grow!
 
                      Jeff Loupas, Executive Director of Teaching and Learning
                     John Sander, Executive Director of Special Services and Programs
 
Please note: Some resources on these pages are only visible and available to UPSD staff
 

 
 Teaching and Learning Staff
Executive Director of Teaching and Learning                    (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3345
Jeff Loupas                                                              Email jloupas@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Assistant Superintendent                                          (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3315
John Sander                                                            Email jsander@upsd.wednet.edu
 
 
Instructional Coordinator                                     (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3347
Annette Holmstrom                                                   Email aholmstrom@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Curriculum Coordinator                                          (253) 566-5600   Ext. 3330
Angie Franklin                                                          Email afranklin@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Director Special Services                                              (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3349
Maria Hetland                                                          Email mhetland@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Assistant Director Special Services                     (253) 566-5600 Ext. 3328
Rad Smith                                                                Email rsmith@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Teaching and Learning Secretary                        (253) 566-5600 Ext. 3338
Jody Johnson                                                            Email  jjohnson@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Special Services Office Coordinator                     (253) 566-5600 Ext. 3326
Gina Newman                                                           Email gnewman@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Student Data Support                                         (253) 253-566-5600  Ext. 3311
                                                                              Email @upsd.wednet.edu
 
Student Data Support                                         (253) 253-566-5600  Ext. 3343
Christine Johnson                                                   Email christinejohnson@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Special Services Secretary                                 (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3334
Melody Vinson                                                        Email mvinson@upsd.wednet.edu
 
Special Services Secretary                            (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3327
Trisha Kent                                                              Email tkent@upsd.wednet.edu