Welcome to the Department of Teaching and Learning

Dear students, staff, and community members:
Welcome to the UPSD Teaching and Learning website. The Department of Teaching and Learning is committed to enhancing the overall experience of all stakeholders within our educational system.  We are committed to continuous progress to assist students on their journey of discovery. From preschool to our transition program, we strive to provide an atmosphere where every student is successful and prepared to meet the challenges of a complex world.

On these pages you will find helpful information concerning all areas of instruction, including assessment, professional development, and special services and programs. Eventually, we will be adding detailed information on curriculum as well, including numerous resources to help staff and parents support student learning.  If there is a specific resource you would like to see on-line, please e-mail any one of us at the address listed below.
Again, welcome to our website. 
                      Jeff Loupas, Assistant Superintendent
Please note: Some resources on these pages are only visible and available to UPSD staff

 Teaching and Learning Staff
Assistant Superintendent                                       (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3345
Jeff Loupas                                                              Email jloupas@upsd.wednet.edu
Assistant Director of Teaching and Learning       (253) 566-5600   Ext. 3330
Angie Franklin                                                          Email afranklin@upsd.wednet.edu
Coordinator of Assessment & Curriculum            (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3342
Juanita Stone                                                            Email jstone@upsd.wednet.edu
Director Special Services                                      (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3349
Maria Hetland                                                           Email mhetland@upsd.wednet.edu
Special Ed Coordinator                                          (253) 566-5600 Ext. 3328
Amy Royster                                                             Email  aroyster@upsd.wednet.edu
Teaching and Learning Secretary                         (253) 566-5600 Ext. 3338
Jody Johnson                                                            Email  jjohnson@upsd.wednet.edu
Special Services Office Coordinator                      (253) 566-5600 Ext. 3326
Gina Newman                                                           Email gnewman@upsd.wednet.edu
Student Data Support                                             (253) 253-566-5600  Ext. 3343
Christine Johnson                                                     Email christinejohnson@upsd.wednet.edu
Special Services Secretary                                   (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3334
Melody Vinson                                                          Email mvinson@upsd.wednet.edu
Special Services Secretary                                   (253) 566-5600  Ext. 3327
Trisha Kent                                                              Email tkent@upsd.wednet.edu